The stats behind Madrid, the capital of World Padel Tour


The stats behind Madrid, the capital of World Padel Tour

We dive deep into the history of Madrid in World Padel Tour, as well as who has historically dominated the event and local players' difficulties.



Madrid, the home of World Padel Tour

No city has hosted World Padel Tour more often than Madrid in the competition's history. 2023's Master will be the 16th Open or Master in Madrid in the men's draw and the 17th in the women's draw, courtesy of the 2018 WOpen.

The Spanish capital is the only city to average more than one tournament a year, as three consecutive tournaments were held in Madrid during the 2020 season following the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Additionally, multiple Master Finals were held in Madrid, the latest one being in 2021 at the Madrid Arena. 

Madrilean players' struggles on home soil

While Madrid has heavy representation in the upper echelons of both rankings, local players seem to struggle to win in front of their local fans. The last Madrilean title in Madrid came in 2021 when Alejandro Galan won the Estrella Damm Master Final at the Madrid Arena.

Galan won three more in Madrid in 2020 while Marta Ortega and Alejandra Salazar both got one in that year, but there was nobody in the crowd to share it with as it was at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Salazar has won in front of a crowd in both the 2015 and 2018 Master Final, and the 2018 Madrid WOpen, but has not won since. 

Expectations will be high for Ortega, Galan, Salazar as well as the likes of Coki Nieto at the Caja Magica, but history tells us most players struggle to thrive under the pressure of being on home soil.

The Masters of Madrid

Historically, four players have managed to win five titles at a Madrid Open, Master or Master Final. Sanyo Gutierrez and Fernando Belasteguin both have five, and there has only been once season since the inception of World Padel Tour that neither player managed to win in Madrid; 2020. 

'Bela' is the reigning champion at the Caja Magica, winning the Master with Arturo Coello in 2022, the last title to date that the Argentinian has won. 

In the women's tour, Mapi and Majo Sanchez Alayeto too have five Madrilean titles to their name. The 'Atomic Twins' won for four consecutive years in their nation's capital, but have not won since 2020.

Currently, the undisputed champions of Madrid are Paula Josemaria and Ariana Sanchez. Since forming at the start of 2021, Josemaria and Sanchez are undefeated in Madrid, winning all three tournaments held there; the Open and Master Final in 2021, and the Master in 2022.

We All Play The Game We All Play The Game We All Play The Game We All Play The Game